Category Archives: E-learning Models & Concepts

Bloom’s Taxonomy

Bloom’s Taxonomy is a model for classifying learning objectives in education. It has been named after Benjamin Bloom, an American educational psychologist, who was instrumental in creating the model. Bloom’s taxonomy divides the objectives set for learners into three ‘domains’, namely cognitive, affective and psycho-motor. Higher level knowledge is dependent on learners having gained pre-requisite knowledge within these domains. This model’s goal is to focus on all three domains to make the learning holistic in nature.

  • Cognitive
  • Affective
  • Behavioral

1. COGNITIVE This domain consists of skills revolving around knowledge and comprehension, and logical thinking. These skills are stressed upon specifically in traditional education. There are six levels in this taxonomy, listed from lowest order to highest below- bloom's taxonomy   Following are the meanings and practical implications of these terms- bloom's taxonomy_cognitive     2. AFFECTIVE Skills in this domain are about how people react emotionally and empathize with others’ joys and sorrows. The domain consists of 5 levels, starting lowest order to highest- bloom's taxonomy_affective   3. PSYCHO-MOTOR: The skills of this domain are about one’s physical ability to manipulate tools and instruments. Psycho-motor objectives mostly focus on change of behavior or skills.   Note: For more information on Training & HR concepts and models, log in to a suitable course at


Leave a comment

Filed under E-learning Models & Concepts